DESTINATION: Rijeka at a glance!

If you have come across my blog before, you are probably aware of my love for travelling. If, let’s now say, you are an avid follower of it (yes, mum, you!), you are aware that I am currently in the Croatian coastline, in the city of Rijeka. DSCN4011DSCN4010

Rijeka is the main port of the country, the 3rd biggest city and for some reason I do not get, more industrial than touristic.

DSCN4024

And trust me when I say I can not understand why such a picturesque city does not attract tourists. There, may not be the “oh! so unique” attractions Dubrovnik, or Split have to offer, but in my eyes what Rijeka has, is more important. It has normal life rhythms.

DSCN4068DSCN4037

DSCN3997

DSCN4029

DSCN4033DSCN4035DSCN4065

You can walk its streets and discover yourself well hidden street art, visit open air markets, go for a coffee and sit next to locals. Let yourself get lost in its narrow roads driven by the need to hear the artists who are around the corner!

DSCN4003DSCN4009

DSCN4017

DSCN4021

DSCN4031

DSCN4061

But the reason I would love to visit Rijeka again is the sea. This winter, I can’t complain, I had the opportunity to be close to the sea in Lesvos, Kalamata, or even Athens, but being a three minutes walk away, from crystal clear waters, or even having that great view from my hostel room window is just another story.

DSCN3962

DSCN3965

DSCN3974DSCN3983DSCN3969

DSCN3970

You know, when one loves travelling, it doesn’t really matter where he is, there is always something to explore!

xx

Aristea!

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Aristea

I eat a lot. I travel often. I write about it. https://mydreamsmanifesto.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “DESTINATION: Rijeka at a glance!”

  1. Couldn’t agree more. Rijeka is a wonderfully unique location in its own right, and has gone through so much in the past century. Nice to see someone highlighting one of the lesser-known Croatian destinations

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for posting this!
      It’s my 10th day here in Rijeka and I really do not want to leave 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

